X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SAHM needs help scheduling toddler's day

I was wondering how any of you SAHMs schedule your toddler's day. Do you have "art" time and "book" time, or what? If so how do you incorporated them? I used to be a preschool teacher so I am looking for some more structure in our day. DS1 is 17 months old and DS2 is 6 weeks. I would love to see some sample schedules. We have scheduled, lunch, nap, dinner, bath and bed times but I am looking for more enriching activities in his day. I have just signed DS1 up for a gymnastics class on Mondays, an Art class on Wednesdays and a story time and play group on Fridays (they all only last 30 minutes, so not overwhelming). I am looking forward to getting out of the house! They all work out well because they are well before lunch and nap time, but I am looking for some day to day activity guides.

We aren't really into scheduling too much so cannot give a blow by blow account of our day as we tend to take things as they come.

In saying that though I do make an effort to do one 'activity' a day. We usually do it after his nap as that is when he seems to be the most receptive and his attention span is the longest at that time too. For the activity I make sure that we do it at the table because this seems to make it more 'special' and differentiates it from playtime. DS gets very excited when I start getting something together on the table. We do arts and crafts, fine motor skill games like putting toothpicks through holes or threading beads, color matching, letters, etc. I make sure that as soon as he looses interest we go off to do something else (often read a book). I dont want him to think of t his time as a chore.