X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Falling asleep

My 8 month old has sleeping problems. It's a struggle to get her to sleep, whether for naps, or nighttime. She will sometimes fall asleep in the swing, but she's about 10 days from outgrowing that. I nurse, rock, walk, and sing, but she does everything in her power to stay awake. Sometimes, it takes 4 or more hours just to get her to sleep. She wakes up between 5 and 6 no matter what time she actually falls asleep. So, if she finally falls asleep at 11, she only gets 6 hours that night. She doesn't get near the 14 - 16 hours of sleep the books say she should be sleeping. Some days, she barely gets 8 hours in a 24 hour period. Does anybody have any suggestions as to how to help her fall asleep?

i'm new to all of this, and i'm actually seeking advice for this, not at night...but with my caregiver (my parents).

at night, we have a routine, and it really seems to help. every night, we give her a bath, then rock her to sleep. she now knows, that when she takes her bath, it's time for bed soon and calms herself down.

i think it's important to read her "sleepy" signs.. my little ruth rubs her ear when she's tired. or, she'll start to whine/cry while playing with us. when she does these things, i know to give her a little bit. i talk to her a lot, and let her know we're going to change her diaper then it's bath time. don't try to make her sleep when she's not ready...or keep her up when she's showing signs. it's important to pay attention to what she's telling you, so she can learn what she's doing by following your lead... she might be showing signs of being tire, but she doesn't know she's doing them. when you catch on to what she's subconsciously saying, and follow through and answer her needs, it helps her understand.

i highly suggest starting a routine, and sticking with it.
    Good luck

Comment