X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 7 wk old hungry baby and tired mommy

hi. my name is erika and i am a single WAHM to my baby boy, juice. we are feeding on demand and cosleeping as well as baby wearing and i need lots of advice and have much to learn. for one thing, juice wants to be on the breast nearly every waking moment. so he is. on rare occasion i let him suck my finger for a minute and if he is not genuinely hungry this pacifies, but i don't want to give him an actual *pacifier*. still, it is very difficult to do simple things like get myself something to eat or go to the bathroom. i spend a lot of time stuck under the baby just starving to death, sometimes for hours, or having to pee for a very long time but not wanting to upset him so i just wait. i have found a way to prop up my breast and the baby so i can nurse hands free. this allows me some time to try to work (i am an illustrator) or answer emails but i am getting very little done, really. i am a single parent and without my income there is no income, so i have to work this out. at some point when he is bigger being on my lap all day while i'm working is going to be really hard. as it is, reaching over him to type and draw has caused me some rather severe chronic pain in my neck, back and shoulder. i want to do what is best for my baby and i know he will not always need these things of me, but i need to be able to eat, pee and work. what do i do? i have tried wearing him in a carrier at my desk but he will not go for this. he wants to be nursing and anything other than just makes him upset. thoughts? suggestions? casseroles?? i thought when you had a new baby people were supposed to bring casseroles....

erika & juice

hi erika!