Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• not sure about feeding

Hi guys
    I am new to API, but have been inadvertently practising attachment parenting since lovely Ben was born.
    I have been reading some of the posts on this thread and find it reassuring that some others ask this question about food, too.
    Ben is now 8 months old and is not superkeen on solids; I am worried that he is not eating enough (esp as we are vegetarian). I have tried purees, cereal, etc, but he cries and ends up not eating (which is very distressing for us both) and then having a nurse instead.
    The baby nurse told me to give him food first and then to nurse him but since he mostly doesn't eat solids, I am lost!
    Any advice on how we can make mealtimes fun and get him to eat?

My son was the same about solids...didn't really get "into" them right away. Remember that there's no real need to start solids at this age...nutritionally, he is getting everything he needs from breast milk. With our son, we kept offering solids without pushing or expecting anything. He gradually warmed up over several months, and mostly because we skipped right to soft finger foods. He enjoyed feeding himself his own bites. This is such a common issue...it is very OK to take a break from solids and wait to try again in a few weeks or months!

Comment