X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 14 month old hitting

This is my first time visiting a forum type site. I got this link from the Dr. Sears website. I have a 14 month old son and he started hitting about 3 weeks ago. He usually only hits me (mommy) but just the other day he hit dad for the first time. I really don't have any idea why he hits. Sometimes he is mad cause I told him no about something, sometimes he does it right when he wakes from a nap, sometimes we will be playing together and out of nowhere he punches me in the face. I try saying "no, dont hit that hurts mommy" or "thats not nice, you have to be nice to mommy". So far what I ve been reading is that this is just a phase and as soon as he can communicate better it will go away. That sounds really great for all those people who posted the same question about their 19 mo. old or their 24mo. old. But my son started this at 13 months he wont be able to communicate his emotions for at least 10 to 14 more months from now that is a very long phase I'm in for. Sometimes he really does "hurt mommy" what can i do, I don't know if I can do it for that long.

my son started hitting at 6 mos! but now he's 27 mos. and hitting is now very rare. continuing w/the responses you've mentioned is great. also, try to look for his cues that he's upset BEFORE he hits. this will help you be prepared to distract or calm so that he doesn't hit as much.

Comment

Hello jhurley78

That is hard, I know!
      Here are links to other threads on this, not necessarily exactly the same, but with similar elements.

How do you handle biting? 14mo old

and
      17 month old hitting and major tantrum issues

I remember that stage of hitting out of nowhere and how frustrating and annoying it is.
      Keep us updated!

Comment