Move Remove Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doesn't listen....

HI Everyone-
    I'm hoping you can help... I'm new to API - but this is something i believe instinctually. My 3 1/2 year old is beginning not to listen. When I try and talk to her after she has behaved inapppropriately (ie hitting her sister, taking her sister's toys, etc.) she just laughs at me and runs away. this makes me very angry and I just have to walk away otherwise I feel I'll say (or do) something I know I'll regret. I'm concerned that my pre-schooler will view this "walking" away as a "victory" on her part... She and I are very close and I would say we are "attached". Many times all I need to do is give her a look and she'll stop what she is doing that is inappropriate. Please help me...
    Thanks
    Laura M.

This may not help much but 100% age-appropriate. My daughter is 4.5 but has developmental delays so is much like a 3.5 year old. For us, life is still all about redirection. "Gentle hands" then redirection to somewhere or something else.

We also do a lot of time-ins. That enables both of us to step away from the action(s) and focus on something else.

How old is her sister?

Comment

HI-
      Thanks for the reply. Her sister just turned a year. I try and redirect her, but sometimes it just doesn't help. Also, it always seems like (this is probably the reason) when I'm spending time with her sister (or she's sitting on my lap, etc. I think she is having hard time sharing my attention with her sister. Does this make sense?
      Thanks
      LZM

Comment

Hi Laura,

It does sound as though this is developmentally appropriate, and you may be right that she's feeling a little jealous of her sister. It can be a hard transition for the older sibling when the younger one becomes more mobile.