X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternatives to "No"

I am a mother of a 14 month old, and in the process of developing my ideas about positive discipline. I have read and thought about it a lot. Of course I am not very experienced mother only having one child so far and the child still being very young. However I thought it would help me (and maybe even others) if I wrote down some of the ideas I am developing with the help of what I am reading.

"No"
    I want my child to take me seriously when I say "No". However I suspect she will not listen to me when I say "No" if I say it all the time. That is why I have decided to reserve it for a small number of situations. The main one being when she does something to hurt someone including me, like hitting, slapping, biting or aggressively pulling hair, specifically, when she does these things in an angry or frustrated way, rather than in a playful way, and when her aim seems to be to hurt and not to play. Then I think it is best to say "No" in a stern voice and put her to sit on her own for a few seconds. The other occasion to say "No", which I hope will never even occur, is if she is in a very dangerous situation for example about to run out on a road, touch a very hot object etc and I can't get to her on time to remove her physically, again, I would hope such a situation will never occur.

All the other times, I have resolved not to say "No" and to have alternatives. That way, she will understand that my sternly voiced "No" is a very serious word to be taken seriously.

Alternatives to "No":

"careful" (in a warning, concerned tone) - this is for when she is climbing on something or has put herself in mild danger. If the only danger is of a mild bump, I say "careful" but let her continue. Sometimes she has fallen, and now she understands the meaning of "careful".