X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• potty training

My daughter is 17 months old and I never really considering potty training until closer to 2-I had always thought we'd try a few months before her bday. Well, she's VERY verbal and keeps complaining to me that her diaper is "dirt", pulling at it uncomfortably, bringing me diapers etc. So, I told her to tell me when she needs to go "doo" just to see if she would. She has told me pretty consistently before, during or just after about 80% of the time for the last week or so. I bought her a potty chair and a cute storybook about it and thought the next time she tells me, I'll ask her what she wants to do. So, she said she wanted to try the "big potty"(reallly just a little chair) and I sat her on it, I sat on the big one and settled in to read her the story and wait. She went BALLISTIC! Screaming like I was trying to kill her or something.
    So, I've never done this before but I don't want to force her into anything before she's ready and I don't really agree with making potty training a huge deal to where it's all the poor kid can think about. We stopped trying the potty after one more time but she's still telling me when it's wet/poopy and wants it changed right away(this was the same child who used to run away screaming when she saw the diaper come out a few months ago. It used to take 10 min to change a diaper cause she wouldn't stop trantruming, so this is a big change)
    My question is I guess--Is she just not ready yet? Is there a way to do this more lovingly and AP and I'm just missing it? I'm kind of worried that she'll get comfortable sitting in dirty diapers and stop talking to me about it over time and then when she is closer to 2, won't be interested.
    Thanks in advance, I really appreciate any advice

Hiya